Volunteer Spotlight: Phyllis

Each month, we would like to highlight some of our docents and bring them to life for each of you. Our docent staff is made up of individuals from far and wide, of varying ages, and diverse backgrounds. We hope you might consider joining our team after learning more about us. Next up- Phyllis!

Name: Phyllis Campbell

phyllis 

 

When did you begin volunteering? 

April 2013

 

What drew you to volunteer at the Hunter House?

My interest in the Victorian Era

 

What is your favorite item in our collection?

My favorite space is the inglenook on the staircase

 

Coffee or Tea?

Tea

 

Favorite period television or movie drama, historic novel, or both.

Westerns; I love Chuck Norris

 

Do you have a mantra or favorite quote?

not really, but I love to tell jokes

  

Name a hidden talent of yours.

Like any good Victorian, I can play piano (a little)

 

What has been the highlight of your time as a volunteer with us?

Hanging out in the kitchen with the other volunteers spending time together drinking tea and having snacks

 

Fill in the blank: When not at the museum, you can find me getting my exercise walking at the mall.

 

Thanks for sharing with us Phyllis! If you would like to know more about joining our family of volunteers, call us at 623-9814 or shoot us an email at hhvm1894@gmail.com.